In Megève, each Savoyard specialty has its own history. Passed down from generation to generation, they have in turn shaped the great history of Megève. Cradle of Alpine gastronomy, dive into the heart of this rich heritage and let yourself be told, over Savoyard specialties, these delicious stories.

8 result(s) out of 30
Show Map
Refine the search
Restaurant

The Torrent

Restaurant

Hello Coffee

Restaurant

The Bistro of Megève

Hotel restaurant

The Marmot

From 17.50 €  / menu
Hotel restaurant

The Coachmen's Table

Restaurant

The Mont d’Arbois Tavern

Restaurant

Radaz Chalet

Reduce map
Hide

Megève, land of Savoyard specialties

In Megève, summer and winter alike, the delicate aromas of melted cheese perfume the kitchens of the restaurants which invite you to do only one thing, come and enjoy a tasty Savoyard speciality.

In a warm wooded atmosphere, where the elegance of old mountain charm is perfectly imbued with modernity, let yourself be told, according to the generous flavors on your taste buds, the beautiful stories of these ancestral Savoyard specialties.

Most of the time transmitted from generation to generation, they are today the world famous of our gastronomy and its riches.

savoyard-specialty-restaurants-megeve
© Melanie CALCEÏ

Did you know?

In the past, the village was a place of passage for peddlers and churchmen. It takes its name “Megève” from the origin “Meztiva”, which is a derivative of the word eat.

Be that as it may, this beneficial stopover was a godsend for these travelers who willingly stopped to share an invigorating meal. In 1880, the Grosset family, who owned a coaching inn, prepared a dish called “matouille” in patois, which was like potatoes covered with a mixture of reheated leftover cheese. This stage allowed travelers a real moment of sharing and conviviality before resuming the road, satiated. A few years later, the fondue dish was on the menu of a restaurant for the first time… in Megève! Even today, between traditional recipe and revisited dish, the fondue remains a must in Megève.

lodges-blanches-specialities-savoyards-megeve-alpes
© Daniel DURAND
© Stephanie IGUNA

A mountain of Savoyard specialties

And because in Megève, the restaurants are not limited to the Sainte-Trinité raclette, fondue, tartiflette, make your palate vibrate with ancestral Savoyard specialties which, symbol of sharing and conviviality, deliciously dress the menus of Megève restaurants.

Farcement, diots in white wine, rissoles, péla, polenta or even Savoy cake are all generous dishes typical of our region, made from products from our lands.

And as here one tradition can hide another, let yourself be tempted by a “little bit of genepi” as the Megève people like to say, which allows you to prolong the pleasures of the Savoyard table, however to be consumed in moderation.

Was this content useful to you?

À Megève, chaque spécialité savoyarde possède sa propre histoire. Transmises de génération en génération, elles ont à leur tour façonné la grande histoire de Megève. Berceau de la gastronomie alpine, plongez au cœur de ce riche patrimoine et laissez-vous conter, au fil des spécialités savoyardes, ces délicieuses histoires.

Découvrez nos 34 offres

Affiner ma recherche

Le Hibou Blanc
Fermé

Le Hibou Blanc

Bar restaurant Le Dahu
Fermé

Bar restaurant Le Dahu

L’Alpette Megève

Fermé

La Petite Fontaine

Fermé

L’R Shot

Alpage de Porrez

Chalet Le Forestier

Réinitialiser la carte

Megève, terre de spécialités savoyardes

À Megève, été comme hiver, les effluves délicats de fromage fondu embaument les cuisines des restaurants qui n’invitent qu’à une seule chose, venir se délecter d’une savoureuse spécialité savoyarde.

Dans une chaleureuse atmosphère boisée, où l’élégance du vieux charme montagnard s’imprègne parfaitement de modernité, laissez-vous conter, au gré des généreuses saveurs sur vos papilles, les belles histoires de ces spécialités savoyardes ancestrales.

La plupart du temps transmises de génération en génération, elles font aujourd’hui la renommée mondiale de notre gastronomique et ses richesses.

restaurants-specialites-savoyardes-megeve
© Mélanie CALCEÏ

Le saviez-vous ?

Autrefois, le village était un lieu de passage pour les colporteurs et hommes d’église. Il tiendrait son nom « Megève » de l’origine « Meztiva », qui est un dérivé du mot manger.

Quoi qu’il en soit, cette halte bienfaitrice était une aubaine pour ces voyageurs qui s’arrêtaient volontiers partager un repas ravigotant. En 1880, la famille Grosset, qui était propriétaire d’un relais de diligences, préparait un met nommé « matouille » en patois, qui s’apparentait à des pommes de terre recouvertes d’un mélange de restes de fromage réchauffés. Cette étape permettait aux voyageurs un véritable moment de partage et de convivialité avant de reprendre la route, rassasiés. Quelques années plus tard, le plat de fondue était pour la première fois inscrit à la carte d’un restaurant… à Megève ! Aujourd’hui encore, entre recette traditionnelle et met revisité, la fondue reste un incontournable de Megève.

loges-blanches-specialites-savoyardes-megeve-alpes
© Daniel DURAND
© Stéphanie IGUNA

Une montagne de spécialités savoyardes

Et parce qu’à Megève, les restaurants ne se limitent pas qu’à la sainte-Trinité raclette, fondue, tartiflette, faites vibrer votre palais au gré de spécialités savoyardes ancestrales qui, symbole de partage et de convivialité, habillent délicieusement les cartes des restaurants mègevans.

Farcement, diots au vin blanc, rissoles, péla, polenta ou encore gâteau de Savoie sont autant de généreux plats typiques de chez nous, confectionnés à partir de produits issus de nos terres.

Et comme ici une tradition peut en cacher une autre, laissez-vous tenter par un « petit coup de génépi » comme aiment si bien le dire les mègevans, qui vous permet de prolonger les plaisirs de la table savoyarde, toutefois à consommer avec modération.

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Partager ce contenu