Megève has always fascinated. But do you really know his story? Endowed with a past and a unique heritage, let us tell you about the origins of the village, from the agricultural town to the famous ski resort. Enter into the confidence of these stories which, transmitted from generation to generation by the children of the country, still shape the identity of the resort today, cradled between tradition and modernity.

Once upon a time in Megève

Before the advent of winter tourism, Megève was above all a peaceful agricultural town where the inhabitants benefited from a fertile and rich land. Megève, from the Celtic name "Mageva" which means the village in the middle of the waters, is a place conducive to agriculture and livestock farming. Very quickly, Megève became conducive to the practice of more sporting activities, such as hiking in summer and skiing in winter.

Indeed, the first tourists already came to Megève in the XNUMXth century. Many pilgrims frequent the Calvary shrine and with, the arrival of the first tourists in search of fresh air. The village then developed in small steps until it became an internationally renowned resort.

telecabine-plateau-mont-arbois-megeve-socquet
© Tops Socquet
© Tops SOCQUET

But it was not until the beginnings of the First World War that skiing was mentioned in Megève, in particular thanks to an article by the journalist Mathilde Maige-Lefournier, a mountaineer from Chambéry, who praised skiing on the heights of the village. .

Entitled “Megève or the glorification of skiing”, his article is a real spotlight which will already have its influence and boost the village as a mecca for winter sports.

It was then that in 1914 the first ski competition was created, as evidenced by the many photos of this period of discovery and development. Farmers invent ski lifts, almost everything will be tested.

DID YOU KNOW ? – The history of the coat of arms of the city of Megève

To discover the origins of the current coat of arms, you have to go back to the time of the Counts of Capré, lords of the place in the 1698th century. Megève having long depended on the castellany of Flumet, it did not have its own coat of arms. Until XNUMX, the territory of Megève, with the notable exception of the town hall and the Pré de Foire, was part of the direct domain of the princes of the House of Savoy.

That year, Victor-Amédée II, to cover the costs of the last war with France, had to sell this castellany and the feudal rights deriving from it. Acquired by Joseph Nicolas de Bieux, Count of Flumet, they were sold in 1699 to François de Capré, auditor at the Chamber of Accounts, who also bought Demi-Quartier in 1702.

Victor-Amédée II, in recognition of the action of Hyacinthe de Capré, the son of François de Capré, during the negotiations which led to the Treaty of Utrecht dating from 1713, erected the seigneury of Megève into a county. The first Count of Megève then chose for his coat of arms a goat called Capra in Latin: "Azure with a head and collar of a goat cut in silver, with a chief in gold", with the motto "Non Indigna Coelo", i.e. " My family is not unworthy of Heaven”. In 2005 the coat of arms was slightly modified and now responds to this heraldic description: “Pave d'azur with a head and collar of a goat with a silver chief”.

blason-megeve

Was this content useful to you?

Share this content

Depuis toujours, Megève fascine. Mais connaissez-vous réellement son histoire ? Doté d’un passé et d’un patrimoine unique, laissez-vous conter les origines du village, du bourg agricole à célèbre la station de ski. Entrez dans la confidence de ces histoires qui, transmises de génération en génération par les enfants du pays, façonnent aujourd’hui encore l’identité de la station, bercée entre tradition et modernité.

Il était une fois Megève

Avant l’avènement du tourisme hivernal, Megève est avant tout un bourg agricole paisible où les habitants profitent d’une terre fertile et riche. Megève, du nom celte « Mageva » qui signifie le village au milieu des eaux, est un lieu propice à l’agriculture et à l’élevage de bétail. Très vite, Megève devient propice à la pratique d’activités plus sportives, comme la randonnée en été et le ski en hiver.

En effet, les premiers touristes viennent déjà à Megève au XIXe siècle. De nombreux pèlerins fréquentent le sanctuaire du Calvaire et avec, l’arrivée des premiers touristes en quête de bon air. Le village se développe alors par petites touches jusqu’à devenir une station de renommée internationale.

telecabine-plateau-mont-arbois-megeve-socquet
© Tops SOCQUET

Mais il faudra attendre les prémices de la Première Guerre mondiale pour que le ski soit mentionné à Megève, notamment grâce à un article de la journaliste Mathilde Maige-Lefournier, alpiniste originaire de Chambéry, qui fait l’apologie du ski sur les hauteurs du village.

Intitulé « Megève ou la glorification du ski », son article est un véritable coup de projecteur qui déjà, va avoir son influence et impulser le village comme un haut lieu des sports d’hiver.

C’est alors qu’en 1914 le premier concours de ski est créé, en témoigne les nombreuses photos de cette période de découverte et de développement. Les agriculteurs inventent les remontes pentes, tout ou presque sera testé.

LE SAVIEZ-VOUS ? – L’histoire du Blason de la ville de Megève

Pour découvrir les origines des armoiries actuelles, il faut remonter au temps des Comtes de Capré, seigneurs des lieux au XVIIème siècle. Megève ayant longtemps dépendu de la châtellenie de Flumet, elle n’avait pas d’armoiries propres. Jusqu’en 1698, le territoire de Megève, à l’exception notable de l’hôtel de ville et du Pré de foire, faisait partie du domaine direct des princes de la Maison de Savoie.

Cette année-là, Victor-Amédée II, pour couvrir les frais de la dernière guerre avec la France, doit mettre en vente cette châtellenie et les droits féodaux en dérivant. Acquis par Joseph Nicolas de Bieux, comte de Flumet, ils sont revendus dès 1699 à François de Capré, auditeur à la chambre des comptes, qui achètera également Demi-Quartier en 1702.

Victor-Amédée II, en reconnaissance de l’action de Hyacinthe de Capré, le fils de François de Capré, lors des négociations qui ont abouti au Traité d’Utrecht datant de 1713, érige la seigneurie de Megève en comté. Le premier comte de Megève choisit alors pour armoiries une chèvre dit Capra en latin : “D’azur à une tête et col de chèvre coupés d’argent, au chef d’or”, avec pour devise “Non Indigna Coelo”, soit “Ma famille n’est pas indigne du Ciel”. En 2005 le blason est légèrement modifié et répond désormais à cette description héraldique : “Pavé d’azur à une tête et col de chèvre au chef d’argent”.

blason-megeve

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Partager ce contenu