Who hasn't dreamed of trying out curling, this sport that combines team spirit, strategy and precision? In Megève, this is possible thanks to the authentic curling rink at the Palais! Accessible to all, curling is a fun and friendly sport that can be played with family or friends. So get out your gloves and hats, and come and challenge yourself on one of the only three curling rinks in the Alps.

Discover the curling rink at the Palais Megève

Pushing the granite stone on the pearly ice, sweeping to keep the trajectory, brushing to increase the speed, communicating to reach the "home"... Still little known to the general public, curling is a playful and fun sporting activity where the spirit of spirit reigns. team and strategy.

At the Palais Megève, a track specially designed for this sporting practice welcomes you from September to April. 44,5 meters long and 4.75 meters wide, this curling rink is prepared every day with great care to be as flat as possible, in order to allow the stones to slide with as little friction as possible.

And like real curling rinks, notches (footrests) are fixed in the ice at the ends of the rink to aid in stone throwing. The target, also called "house", is also marked in the ice at both ends of the track.

In terms of competitive sports, the Palais Megève curling rink is an ideal preparation center for professionals and curling clubs looking for intensive training and athletic performance.

 

Discover the curling activity
curling track-palais-megeve
© David MACHET

What are the rules of curling?

Curling is a collective sport where 2 teams of 4 players compete. There is a pitcher, often the captain, and three sweepers. While the thrower sends a stone on the ice in order to get as close as possible to the target, his sweeping teammates rub the ice with a broom in order to maintain the trajectory of the stone and increase its speed.

Although the role of the thrower is essential, the sweepers will considerably influence the sliding of the stone thanks to their friction. The goal is to place it either at best in the house (target) or to knock out an opposing stone. At the end of each round, a number of points is awarded to the team with the stone or stones closest to the center of the house. The team with the most points at the end of 10 rounds wins the game.

More than any other team sport, sportsmanship is an integral part of curling. The tradition even has it that after the game, the winning team offers a drink to the players of the opposing team. So with family or friends, come and challenge yourself on the incredible curling rink of the Palais Megève.

© David MACHET

Contact information

247 Sports Palace Road
74120 Megève
Calculate my route

Was this content useful to you?

Qui n’a jamais rêvé de tester le curling, ce sport qui mêle à la fois esprit d’équipe, stratégie et précision ? À Megève c’est possible grâce à l’authentique piste de curling du Palais ! Accessible à tous, le curling est un sport ludique et convivial qui peut se jouer en famille ou entre amis. Alors sortez vos gants et bonnets, et venez vous défier sur l’une des trois seules pistes de curling des Alpes.

Découvrez la piste de curling du Palais Megève

Pousser la pierre de granit sur la glace perlée, balayer pour garder la trajectoire, brosser pour augmenter la vitesse, communiquer pour atteindre la « maison » … Encore peu connu du grand public, le curling est une activité sportive ludique et amusante où règnent esprit d’équipe et stratégie.

Au Palais Megève, une piste spécialement conçue pour cette pratique sportive vous accueille de septembre à avril. Longue de 44,5 mètres et large de 4.75 mètres, cette piste de curling est chaque jour préparée avec grand soin pour être la plus plane possible, afin de permettre aux pierres de glisser avec le moins de friction possible.

Et comme les authentiques pistes de curling, des entailles (appuie-pieds) sont fixées sur la glace aux extrémités de la piste pour aider au lancement de la pierre. La cible, aussi appelé « maison », est également tracée dans la glace aux deux extrémités de la piste.

Côté sport en compétition, la piste de curling du Palais Megève est un centre de préparation idéal pour les professionnels et clubs de curling, en quête d’entraînements intensifs et performances sportives.

 

Découvrir l’activité curling
piste-curling-palais-megeve
© David MACHET
© David MACHET

Quelles sont les règles du curling ?

Le curling est un sport collectif où 2 équipes de 4 joueurs s’affrontent. Il y a un lanceur, souvent le capitaine, et trois balayeurs. Tandis que le lanceur envoie une pierre sur la glace dans le but de se rapprocher le plus possible de la cible, ses équipiers balayeurs frottent la glace avec un balai afin de maintenir la trajectoire de la pierre et augmenter sa vitesse.

Bien que le rôle du lanceur soit essentiel, les balayeurs vont considérablement influencer la glisse de la pierre grâce à leurs frottements. Le but étant de la placer soit au mieux dans la maison (cible) soit de dégommer une pierre adverse. À la fin de chaque manche, un nombre de points est attribué à l’équipe qui possède la ou les pierres les plus proches du centre de la maison. L’équipe qui possède le plus de point à la fin des 10 manches remporte la partie.

Plus que pour tout autre sport d’équipe, l’esprit sportif fait partie intégrante du curling. La tradition veut même qu’après la partie, l’équipe gagnante offre une boisson aux joueurs de l’équipe adverse. Alors en famille ou entre amis, venez vous défier sur l’incroyable piste de curling du Palais Megève.

Dates et heures d'ouverture

Horaires d'ouverture du 12 septembre au 30 avril 2023
Lundi Ouvert
Mardi Ouvert
Mercredi Ouvert
Jeudi Ouvert
Vendredi Ouvert
Samedi Ouvert
Dimanche Ouvert
Uniquement sur réservation

Coordonnées

Curling

247 route du Palais des Sports
74120 Megève
Calculer mon itinéraire

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Partager ce contenu