The Megève architectural landscape is as rich as it is varied. Just walk through the streets of village et paths surroundings to notice it and discover here and there, a traditional farmhouse, a Henry-Jacques Le Same chalet, a contemporary construction... A cohabitation which unfolds wonderfully and which testifies to thehistory architecture of the village.

In Megève, architecture meets art

Until the 20s, Megève, then of agricultural tradition, housed large mountain farms. The volumes were organized in a functional way with a part reserved for the dwelling, a floor for the hay and the rest of the surface for the animals. Typology of the land, climatic constraints, practicality, at the time natural common sense was essential to define the construction. The function then making the form.

The installation of the architect Henry Jacques Le Même in the village marked a turning point in its visual and architectural identity. In 1927, with the construction of the Chalet de la Baronne de Rothschild, he created the first “Chalet-skieur”, comfortable, functional and largely open to the surrounding landscapes. His starting point, the vernacular habitat which inspired him to build buildings meet the requirements of modernity. Then under the influence of Le Corbusier, he uses concrete which offers the possibility of complicated and studied forms. Thus, in Megève, he erected a plethora of chalets but also hotels, schools, shops...

maison-architecte-le-meme-station-megeve_01
© Simon GARNIER
David Andre

A unique architecture, between innovation and tradition

In his alpine work, which illustrates his know-how grappling with the savoir-vivre of his clientele, he was able to perfectly associate the novelty and the spirit of the time with the immutable imperatives of construction in the mountains.

The 80s marked the return of a trend towards the authentic and the traditional, a movement that lasted between 20 and 30 years. Old wood, small openings and windows, inlaid patterns… We undeniably tended towards the rustic. But whereas up to now, we paid little attention to energy consumption, there has been a real awareness of climate problems, which have become a major issue for future generations. We then began to consider constructions in a much more reasoned way.

Frank Paubel

Thus for ten years, it is not uncommon to see flowering chalets very contemporary with large bay windows. They have a double advantage, opening up to the outside to take advantage of the beautiful landscapes surroundings and use the sun as an energy source in its own right; the 2012 Thermal Regulations also require a maximum of natural heat input.

While honey and brown colors were once legion, wood treatment today offers many possibilities: brushed, split, heated, stained in grey, black... Wood is of course very present in chalets but used in a very purified. Leather, stainless steel, black metal, sandblasted glass, granite and contemporary stones…. We no longer hesitate to mix it with very modern materials, in spaces that are much less compartmentalised.

The constructions are constantly evolving and adapting to our lifestyles and seem to reflect a desire on the part of the architecture and the village to open up to the world.

Was this content useful to you?

Share this content

Le paysage architectural mégevan est aussi riche que varié. Il suffit de se promener dans les rues du village et chemins environnants pour s’en apercevoir et découvrir ça et là, une ferme traditionnelle, un chalet Henry-Jacques Le Même, une construction contemporaine… Une cohabitation qui se déroule à merveille et qui témoigne de l’histoire architecturale du village.

À Megève, l’architecture rencontre l’art

Jusque dans les années 20, Megève, alors de tradition agricole, abritait de grandes fermes montagnardes. Les volumes étaient organisés de manière fonctionnelle avec une partie réservée à l’habitation, un étage pour le foin et le reste de la surface pour les bêtes. Typologie du terrain, contraintes climatiques, praticité, à l’époque le bon sens naturel s’imposait pour définir la construction. La fonction faisant alors la forme.

L’installation de l’architecte Henry Jacques Le Même dans le village a marqué un tournant dans son identité visuelle et architecturale. En 1927, avec la construction du chalet de la Baronne de Rothschild, il réalise alors le premier “Chalet-skieur”, confortable, fonctionnel et largement ouvert sur les paysages environnants. Son point de départ, l’habitat vernaculaire dont il s’inspire pour bâtir des édifices répondent aux exigences de modernité. Alors sous l’influence de Le Corbusier, il utilise le béton qui offre la possibilité de formes compliquées et étudiées. Ainsi, à Megève, il érigea pléthore de chalets mais aussi d’Hôtels, établissements scolaires, magasins…

maison-architecte-le-meme-station-megeve_01
© Simon GARNIER
David André

Une architecture unique, entre innovation et tradition

Dans son œuvre alpine, qui illustre son savoir-faire aux prises avec le savoir-vivre de sa clientèle, il a su parfaitement associer la nouveauté et l’esprit de l’époque avec les impératifs immuables de la construction en montagne.

Les années 80 signèrent le retour d’une tendance à l’authentique et au traditionnel, une mouvance qui dura entre 20 et 30 ans. Vieux bois, petites ouvertures et fenêtres, motifs incrustés… On tendait indéniablement au rustique. Mais alors que jusqu’à présent, on se préoccupait peu de la consommation d’énergie, une véritable prise de conscience est intervenue par rapport aux problèmes climatiques, devenus un enjeu majeur pour les générations futures. On s’est alors mis à envisager les constructions de manière beaucoup plus raisonnée.

Franck Paubel

Ainsi depuis une dizaine d’années, il n’est pas rare de voir fleurir des chalets très contemporains aux grandes baies vitrées. Elles présentent un double avantage, s’ouvrir sur l’extérieur pour profiter des magnifiques paysages environnants et utiliser le soleil comme source d’énergie à part entière ; la Réglementation Thermique 2012 obligeant d’ailleurs à un maximum d’apport de chaleur naturelle.

Alors que les coloris miel et marron étaient autrefois légion, le traitement du bois offre aujourd’hui de multiples possibilités : brossé, éclaté, chauffé, lasuré en gris, noir… Le bois reste bien sûr très présent dans les chalets mais utilisé de manière très épurée. Cuir, inox, métal noir, verre sablé, granit et pierres contemporaines…. On n’hésite plus à le mélanger à des matières très modernes, dans des espaces qui se font beaucoup moins cloisonnés.

Les constructions ne cessent d’évoluer et de s’adapter à nos styles de vie et semblent refléter une volonté de la part de l’architecture et du village de s’ouvrir sur le monde.

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Partager ce contenu