Although ancestral, telemark today enters the very trendy circle of new snow sports. This technique, derived from Nordic traditions, perfectly combines balance, precision and freedom of movement. From refined gestures to delicacy, telemark offers precise curves where the rhythm becomes a dance in complicity with the snowy terrain.

2 result(s) out of 2
Show Map
Refine the search
Providers

Oxygen Ski and Snowboard School

Providers

French Ski School

Reduce map
Hide

Telemark: test the original ski!

Splendid to observe, this discipline is just as splendid to practice. Closely approaching the main lines of traditional downhill skiing, telemark is an aesthetic discipline where the heel, which unlike classic alpine skiing is free, rises to offer unique gliding sensations, closer to the snow.

Gently bend your knees, graze the fresh snow, savor the gentle and rhythmic turns, have fun with the terrain to become one... Telemark offers a unique feel, rediscovered maneuverability and real proximity to the track, much appreciated adrenaline junkies in constant search of new sensations. New equipment and new practitioners, by dint of bowing, telemark has made a comfortable and unique place for itself in the world of skiing.

Practicing telemark means playing with balance. Even if the loss is never far from it, it causes an excitement coupled with a feeling of intense satisfaction throughout the descent. And then even if you fall, our state-qualified instructors will tell you, "it's by falling that you progress"! Because if a certain mastery of traditional sliding is necessary to offer the real sensations of telemark, it is not essential to know how to ski perfectly well. So, ready to take a telemark lesson?

telemark-ski-megeve-mont-blanc_02
© Andy COLLET

Are you still hesitating to try telemark? Here are 10 good reasons to try!

  1. Much more than simple alpine skiing, telemark is a dance in complicity with the ski slope
  2. It is a soft gliding technique, without impact and therefore without risk of injury
  3. It is an easy sport despite the repetition of the posture which requires more muscles
  4. Learning can be done in just one week
  5. Telemark extends the ski slopes because they are approached in different ways
  6. No risk of accident or injury: here no risk of cruciate ligament!
  7. Telemark is an ideal sport to maintain your physical condition
  8. The equipment is modern and comfortable, suitable for all levels
  9. It's fun and you will experience new sliding sensations
  10. You will enter the very trendy circle of new snow sports
© Andy COLLET

Did you know?

Coming from downhill Nordic skiing techniques, telemark is recognized as being one of the oldest skiing techniques that we can know. Indeed, it was in 1868 that a Norwegian carpenter named Sondre Norheim, living on the edge of a small village whose county bears the name of Telemark, imagined and produced the first pair of skis in this discipline at the using two wooden blades. Here, the relief is rough, sloping and very steep. In winter, access to the village of Morgedal proves dangerous by means of traditional skis which do not offer sufficient maneuverability in the snowy hills. This is how Sondre Norheim came up with the idea of ​​building skis where you have to bend your knee to turn. To complete the package, he invented a wasp waist to facilitate turns and bindings in leather straps. 150 years later, telemark is dusted off by lovers of skiing in constant search of unusual sensations. There are also many telemark competitions but also world championships which have been organized every two years since 2005.

Was this content useful to you?

Bien qu’ancestral, le télémark rentre aujourd’hui dans le cercle très branché des nouvelles glisses. Cette technique, issue des traditions nordiques, mêle parfaitement équilibre, précision et liberté de mouvement. De la gestuelle raffinée jusqu’à la délicatesse, le télémark offre des courbes précises où le rythme devient une danse en complicité avec le terrain enneigé.

17 décembre 15 avril 2023

Fermé

Initiation télémark

Réinitialiser la carte

Telemark : testez le ski originel !

Splendide à observer, cette discipline l’est tout autant à pratiquer. Se rapprochant étroitement des grandes lignes du ski de descente traditionnel, le télémark est une discipline esthétique où le talon, qui contrairement au ski alpin classique est libéré, se lève pour offrir des sensations de glisse uniques, au plus proche de la neige.

Plier délicatement les genoux, frôler la neige fraîche, savourer les virages doux et rythmés, s’amuser avec le terrain pour ne faire qu’un… Le télémark offre un touché unique, une maniabilité retrouvée et une véritable proximité avec la piste, très appréciée des adeptes d’adrénaline en recherche constante de nouvelles sensations. Nouveau matériel et nouveaux pratiquants, à force de courbettes, le télémark s’est fait une place confortable et unique dans l’univers du ski.

Pratiquer le télémark, c’est jouer avec l’équilibre. Même si la perte n’en est jamais loin, elle provoque une excitation doublée d’un sentiment de satisfaction intense tout au long de la descente. Et puis même si vous tombez, nos moniteurs diplômés d’État vous le diront, « c’est par la chute que l’on progresse » ! Car si une certaine maîtrise de la glisse traditionnelle est nécessaire pour s’offrir les véritables sensations du télémark, il n’est pas essentiel de savoir parfaitement bien skier. Alors, prêt à prendre un cours de télémark ?

telemark-ski-megeve-mont-blanc_02
© Andy COLLET
Ecole de Ski & Snowboard Oxygène

Vous hésitez encore à tester le télémark ? Voici 10 bonnes raisons d’essayer !

  1. Bien plus que du simple ski alpin, le télémark est une danse en complicité avec la piste de ski
  2. C’est une technique de glisse douce, sans impact et donc sans risque de blessure
  3. C’est un sport facile malgré la répétition de la posture qui sollicite plus de muscles
  4. L’apprentissage peut se faire en une semaine seulement
  5. Le télémark rallonge les pistes de ski car elles sont abordées de manières différentes
  6. Pas de risque d’accident ou de blessure : ici pas de risque de ligament croisé !
  7. Le télémark est un sport idéal pour entretenir sa condition physique
  8. Les équipements sont modernes et confortables, adaptés à tous les niveaux
  9. C’est amusant et vous vivrez des sensations de glisse inédites
  10. Vous rentrerez dans le cercle très branché des nouvelles glisses
© Andy COLLET

Le saviez-vous ?

Issu des techniques de ski nordique de descente, le télémark est reconnu comme étant l’une des plus anciennes techniques de ski que l’on puisse connaître. En effet, c’est en 1868 qu’un menuisier Norvégien du nom de Sondre Norheim, vivant en marge d’un petit village dont le comté porte le nom de Telemark, imagine et réalise la première paire de skis de cette discipline à l’aide de deux lames en bois. Ici, le relief est rude, pentu et très escarpé. En hiver, l’accès au village de Morgedal s’avère dangereux par le biais des skis traditionnels qui n’offrent pas la maniabilité suffisante dans les collines enneigées. C’est ainsi que Sondre Norheim a eu l’idée de construire des skis où il faut plier le genou pour tourner. Pour compléter le package, il invente une taille de guêpe pour faciliter les virages et des fixations en lanières en cuir. 150 plus tard, le télémark est dépoussiéré par les amoureux de la glisse en recherchent constante de sensations insolites. Il existe d’ailleurs de nombreuses compétitions de télémark mais aussi des championnats du monde qui sont organisés tous les deux ans depuis 2005.

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Partager ce contenu