Wrapped in a soft white veil, Megève appears as if transformed. A true pioneer resort in the practice of winter sports, Megève has become THE snowy destination par excellence. Slide, slalom, explore... See you at the first bend!

Smell…

In Megève, the delicious scents of the mountains are everywhere. At the top of the mountains, open your lungs fully. Take time to breathe. Inhale. Expire. Let the mountain guide you, open the doors to its well-kept secrets. In the village, the scents of cinnamon, gingerbread and mulled wine that emanate from the terraces fill your nostrils and whet your appetite. Not far away, the scents of melted cheese invite them to share a delicious Savoyard speciality. At the heart of your accommodation is an explosion of perfume. The one created by the fireplace, the warm cookies coming out of the oven or the Christmas tree which, elegantly decorated, offers an incomparable smell of happiness.

cafe-pistes-megeve-ski-vacances-hiver
© Marie Bougault

Touch…

Enter into matter. Touch the world around you. Caress the soft woolen scarf knitted by Mamie. Thick layers of warm clothes. Feel the goosebumps. The cold that runs through you from head to toe. Appreciate the bursts of snowflakes that touch your cheeks reddened by the cold. Snow that melts on contact with your skin. Then, savor the sensations that run through your body when, thrown at full speed on a sled, your heart races. Immediately, an invigorating feeling of freshness takes hold of you. Like when you catch yourself plunging your hands into the snow or sucking on ice cubes hanging from the branches of trees. Or when, with a mischievous gesture, we seize a handful of snow in order to undertake a lively battle. Then, we bring in the blue lips to dry ourselves near the fire before letting ourselves be enveloped by the very hot water of a bath.

© Marie BOUGAULT – Municipality of Megève

Admire…

When the first snowflakes of winter come delicately to pile up on the green fir trees and delicately tint the landscapes with a soft white veil, Megève shines through in an exhilarating purity, as if metamorphosed into a real sparkling jewel. In nature, magic is everywhere. If the human eye does not detect activity on the surface, the snow-covered forests and immaculate mountain pastures nevertheless shelter, in their depths, wild animals having fun in the cold snow. Conversely, the trees which, stripped of their leaves, seem to be sleeping under their thick blanket of snow. In the village, magic is everywhere. Dazzling and luxuriant, it sparkles with a thousand lights under the luminous garlands, the famous Christmas tree and the flashes of amazed passers-by who have come to immortalize the spectacle of winter in Megève.

© Simon GARNIER – Municipality of Megève

Taste…

Although winter is embellished with mist, ice and snow, winter dishes are embellished with friendliness, generosity and sincerity. Wrapped up in the warmth of the fireplaces, where some good dishes are still simmering, you rejoice to see winter coming. The pot-au-feu, specialties based on melted cheeses, winter gratins, root vegetables, soups, soups and all-you-can-eat soups are yours! On the tip of the tongue, taste the new flavors, textures, colors. Because in Megève, winter lacks neither shades nor reliefs. Appreciate recipes with a nostalgic flavor or dishes with original aromas. Taste the comforting flavors, the generous flavors and the inimitable tastes. Because in Megève, winter has an incomparable flavour.

DDD

Listen…

Listen. Listening to your own breath to begin with. A breath which, faced with the cold of winter, becomes short. Then listening to the deafening silence of the snow falling in abundance where only the crunch of your footsteps will support your thoughts. Arriving near the village, listen carefully. Listen to cups of mulled wine clinking, skate blades scraping frozen ice, ski boots pounding the pavement. Not far away, a horse-drawn carriage wanders to the sound of bells when the bell tower rings the hour to return. While the children's laughter warms hearts, the crackling fire in the fireplace warms the body. Next door, Christmas carols blast from the radio. Together, all these noises form the sweet melody of winter.

Was this content useful to you?

Save

Share this content

Enveloppée d’un doux voile blanc, Megève transparaît comme métamorphosée. Véritable station pionnière dans la pratique des sports d’hiver, Megève est devenue LA destination enneigée par excellence. Glissez, slalomez, explorez… Rendez-vous au premier virage !

Humez…

À Megève, les délicieux parfums de la montagne sont partout. Au sommet des montagnes, ouvrez pleinement vos poumons. Prenez le temps de respirer. Inspirez. Expirer. Laissez la montagne vous guider, vous ouvrir les portes de ses secrets bien gardés. Au village, les effluves de cannelle, pain d’épices et vin chaud qui émanent des terrasses emplissent vos narines et ouvrent les appétits. Non loin, les senteurs de fromages fondus invitent elles à partager une délicieuse spécialité savoyarde. Au cœur de votre hébergement, c’est une explosion de parfum. Celui créé par le feu de cheminée, les biscuits tout chauds qui sortent du four ou encore le sapin de Noël qui, élégamment décoré, offre une odeur de bonheur inégalable.

cafe-pistes-megeve-ski-vacances-hiver
© Marie Bougault

Touchez…

Entrez en matière. Touchez le monde qui vous entoure. Caressez la douce écharpe en laine tricotée par Mamie. Les épaisses couches de vêtements chauds. Ressentez la chair de poule. Le froid qui vous parcourt de la tête aux pieds. Appréciez les éclats de flocons qui effleurent vos joues rougies par le froid. La neige qui fond au contact de votre peau. Puis, savourez les sensations qui parcourent votre corps lorsque, lancé à toute vitesse sur une luge, votre cœur s’emballe. Immédiatement, une sensation de fraîcheur vivifiante s’empare de vous. Comme lorsque l’on se surprend à plonger les mains dans la neige ou à sucer les glaçons pendus aux branches des arbres. Ou encore quand, d’un geste espiègle, on se saisit d’une poignée de neige afin d’entreprendre une bataille animée. Puis, on rentre les lèvres bleues pour se sécher près du feu avant de se laisser envelopper par l’eau bien chaude d’un bain.

© Marie BOUGAULT – Commune de Megève

Admirez…

Lorsque les premiers flocons de l’hiver viennent délicatement s’amasser sur les sapins verts et teintent délicatement les paysages d’un doux voile blanc, Megève transparaît dans une pureté exaltante, comme métamorphosée en un véritable joyau scintillant. Dans la nature, la féérie est partout. Si l’œil humain ne décèle pas d’activité en surface, les forêts enneigées et les alpages immaculés n’en abritent pas moins, dans leurs profondeurs, des animaux sauvages qui s’amusent dans la neige froide. À l’inverse, les arbres qui, dépouillés de leurs feuilles, semblent eux dormir sous leur épais manteau neigeux. Dans le village, la magie est partout. Éblouissant et luxuriant, il scintille de mille feux sous les guirlandes lumineuses, le célèbre sapin de Noël et les flashs des passants émerveillés venus immortaliser le spectacle de l’hiver à Megève.

© Simon GARNIER – Commune de Megève

Goûtez…

Bien que l’hiver soit agrémenté de brume, de glace et de neige, les plats hivernaux sont eux agrémentés de convivialité, de générosité et de sincérité. Emmitouflée dans la chaleur des cheminées, où quelques bons plats sont encore mijotés, vous vous réjouissez de voir arriver l’hiver. À vous les pot-au-feu, spécialités à bases de fromages fondus, gratins d’hiver, légumes racines, potages, soupes et veloutés à volonté ! Sur le bout de la langue, goûtez aux nouvelles saveurs, textures, couleurs. Car à Megève, l’hiver ne manque ni de nuances ni de reliefs. Appréciez les recettes au parfum de nostalgie ou les plats aux arômes originaux. Goûtez les saveurs réconfortantes, les sapidités généreuses et les goûts inimitables. Car à Megève, l’hiver a une saveur inégalable.

DDD

Écoutez…

Mettez-vous à l’écoute. À l’écoute de votre propre souffle pour commencer. Un souffle qui, face au froid de l’hiver, devient court. Puis à l’écoute de l’assourdissant silence de la neige qui tombe en abondance où seul le crissement de vos pas dans viendra étayer vos pensées. En arrivant près du village, tendez l’oreille. Écoutez les tasses de vin chaud qui s’entrechoquent, les lames de patins qui râpent la glace gelée, les chaussures de ski qui battent le pavé. Non loin, une calèche déambule au son des grelots quand le clocher sonne l’heure de rentrer. Tandis que les rires des enfants réchauffent les cœurs, le feu qui crépite dans la cheminée réchauffe le corps. Juste à côté, les cantiques de Noël jaillissent du poste radio. Réunis, tous ces bruits forment la douce mélodie de l’hiver.

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Partager ce contenu